There is only 1 item left in stock.


Genre: Jazz
Label: Jazz Images
Format: 33RPM, Photograph by William Claxton
Release Date: December 20, 2018

Among the many gems from Art Pepper’s superlative discography was a January 19, 1957 studio date in which the altoist fronted a quartet featuring the rhythm section from Miles Davis’ first great quintet (1955-1957): pianist Red Garland, bassist Paul Chambers and drummer Philly Joe Jones. Ten exquisite tracks were recorded in a period of just five hours, nine of which made their way onto the album Art Pepper Meets The Rhythm Section. The quartet’s chemistry and the sublime quality of the music recorded belie the numerous complications that occurred prior to the session. Art had never previously played with any of the members of The Rhythm Section, and never would again with the exception of Paul Chambers.

Iconic photographer William Claxton best known for his dozens of splendid portraits of jazz figures and Hollywood stars. Claxton´s images graced the covers of countless records and appeared in magazines such as Life, Paris Match and Vogue.

1. You'd Be So Nice To Come Home To 5:27
2. Red Pepper Blues 3:39
3. Imagination 5:55
4. Waltz Me Blues 2:57
5. Straight Life 4:07
6. Jazz Me Blues 4:55
7. Tin Tin Deo 7:43
8. Star Eyes 5:13
9. Birks Works 4:19